BERKELEY • DAVIS • IRVINE • LOS ANGELES • MERCED • RIVERSIDE • SAN DIEGO • SAN FRANCISCO



SANTA BARBARA • SANTA CRUZ

UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON LIBRARY AND SCHOLARLY COMMUNICATION Richard A. Schneider, Chair rich.schneider@ucsf.edu

Assembly of the Academic Senate 1111 Franklin Street, 12th Floor Oakland, CA 94607-5200

Jeff Mackie-Mason and Ivy Anderson, Co-Chairs
Publisher Negotiation Task Force, UC Council of University Librarians (CoUL)

29 May 2018

Re: UCOLASC Endorsement of Priorities for the CoUL Publisher Negotiation Task Force

Dear Jeff and Ivy,

A long-stated goal of the faculty-led University Committee on Library and Scholarly Communication (UCOLASC) at the University of California (UC) is to transform the publishing system from one that is subscription-based to one that is open access (OA). As such, and with the clear intention of accelerating the transition to OA for UC authors and the implementation of the UCOLASC <u>Declaration of Rights and Principles</u>, UCOLASC unanimously endorses (12-0) the position taken by the Council of University Librarians (CoUL) and the Publisher Negotiation Task Force that CoUL has convened to prepare for upcoming negotiations with journal publishers.

Specifically, UCOLASC concurs unequivocally that the following should be included in publisher agreements when UC is negotiating for OA:

- The ability to make any article published by UC authors immediately OA in a given publisher's journals.
- Reading access and perpetual rights for all UC campuses to all articles in a given publisher's journal portfolio.
- A sustainable price model that enables a transition to OA.

UCOLASC and other faculty across the University of California system are committed to working with publishers who share the common of goal of making scholarly communication more open, fair, transparent, and sustainable.

We thank you, the other members of the Publisher Negotiation Task Force, and CoUL for your efforts on our behalf, and we stand alongside you with firm resolve.

Sincerely,

Richard A. Schneider, Chair

Dennis Ventry, Vice Chair

Geoffrey Koziol, UC Berkeley
Kathryn Olmsted, UC Davis
Amelia Regan, UC Irvine
Eric Sobel, UC Los Angeles
Karl Ryavec, UC Merced
Jiayu Liao, UC Riverside
Eric Bakovic, UC San Diego
Diana Laird, UC San Francisco
John Du Bois, UC Santa Barbara
Karen Ottermann, UC Santa Cruz