UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES ANNUAL REPORT 2018-19

TO THE ASSEMBLY OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE:

Responsibilities and Duties

Pursuant to <u>Senate Bylaw 150</u>, the University Committee on Committees (UCOC) oversaw the appointment of chairs and vice chairs for each of the standing committees of the Assembly; oversaw the nomination of Senate members to serve on ad hoc or ongoing joint Senate-Administration committees and task forces. UCOC met three times in person and three times by videoconference. Major issues and accomplishments are reported below.

Appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Senate's Standing Committees

At the October 2018 meeting, members chose their positions to serve as standing committee liaisons. The liaisons gathered information from the committee chairs, vice chairs, members, and analysts on the committee's effectiveness and possible vice chair candidates. In addition, the liaisons recommended individuals for 2019-20 chairs and vice chairs of their designated committees. UCOC reviewed and approved these recommendations from April to August 2019.

Appointment of members of Senate committees, subcommittees, or task forces that report to the Assembly

The ten divisional Committees on Committees nominated divisional representatives to the standing committees and to the Assembly. Subsequently, UCOC issued the appointment letters, which specified the term of appointment and the committee's charge. UCOC also was asked to consider members and consulted upon the following:

- Editorial Committee UCOC appointed seven new members;
- University Committee of Rules and Jurisdiction (UCRJ) University Committee of Rules and Jurisdiction (UCRJ) reappointed the chair and 3 members and appointed 1 new member. UCOC also appointed two members mid-term to replace one committee member leaving for sabbatical and a second who was no longer willing to serve.
- University Committee on Faculty Welfare (UCFW) Task Force on Investment and Retirement (TFIR) appointed one at-large member;
- Academic Council Special Committee on Lab Issues (ACSCOLI) reappointed one member and reappointed the chair of the committee;
- University Committee on Planning and Budget (UCPB) Task Force on Agriculture and Natural Resources (TF ANR) – vetted one appointment per the request of the UCPB leadership.
- Health Care Task Force (HCTF) vetted five appointments per the request of the UCFW leadership.

Appointment of Senate Representatives to Special Committees & Task Forces, Search Committees, and Joint Senate/Administrative Task Forces and Committees

UCOC is responsible for appointing Senate representatives to various groups that are proposed by the President, Provost, and/or other senior administrators, including search committees of senior executives and chancellors. UCOC nominated and appointed representatives to serve on a number of joint Administration-Senate task forces and other groups. These included:

• The UCLA and UCSF Chancellor Ad Hoc Review Committees

- The UCSC Chancellor Search Committee
- The UC Merced Chancellor Search Committee
- The Knowledge Transfer Advisory Committee (KTAC)
- The Sustainability Steering Committee.

UCOC nominated and forwarded Senate representatives for the following councils:

- UC's National Center for Free Speech and Civic Engagement Academic Advisory Board identified ten candidates for UCOP.
- UC Washington Center (UCDC) Governing Council recommended two names to Senate leadership.
- Governing Council of the UC Agriculture and Natural Resources Division (UC ANR)
- UC Center for Free Speech and Civic Engagement Academic Advisory Board
- Cultural Repatriation Policy Advisory Workgroup identified and vetted three subject matter experts
- Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) Advisory Board identified and vetted three subject matter experts in each of three categories to UCOP.

UCOC was asked to suggest members for and/or consulted upon the following:

- Academic Council Standardized Testing Task Force
- Academic Council Task Force on Teaching Evaluations
- Scientific Review Panel (SRP) California Air Resources Board (CARB) identified two subject matter experts in each of three categories: 1) academic administration, 2) biostatistics, and 3) biochemistry/ molecular biology.
- Herbicides/Glyphosate Task Force identified one primary and one secondary subject matter expert.

Academic Council Chairs Award for Mid-Career Leadership in the Academic Senate

This new award in the Academic Senate will be presented every two years to a mid-career (Associate Professor to Professor V) member of the UC faculty who has demonstrated exceptional academic senate leadership. Funded through gifts from former Academic Council Chairs, the award carries a small honorarium.

UCOC nominated Sean Malloy (UCM) and Onyebuchi A. Arah (UCLA) for the Mid-Career Leadership Award. Both have extraordinary service on both the systemwide and divisional level, as well as stellar records of academic achievement. Academic Council subsequently selected both nominations for this Mid-Career Leadership Award.

Other UCOC activities

- UCOC discussed the increased requests to UCOC for Senate representation. For most of these requests, UCOC only suggests names, not appoint people.
- With the Editorial Committee, members are not fully aware of the expectations and that there is a high level of absenteeism. UCOC shared strategies for how to address this.
- Staff members from the UCOP Office of Research and Graduate Studies explained to UCOC that UC is required to adhere to legal minimums of appointing to state-level review panels. State agencies see this as UC providing direct service to the state, and the state relies on these expert committees.
- UCOC discussed that there are divisional Task Forces on Teaching Evaluations and questioned the need for a systemwide task force.

Respectfully submitted:

Kevin Plaxco, Chair (UCSB)	Wendy Campana (UCSD)
Pamela Ling, Vice Chair (UCSF)	Jacqueline Leung (UCSF)
Teresa Head-Gordon (UCB)	Bassam Bamieh (UCSB)
Cynthia Passmore (UCD)	Patricia Gallagher (UCSC)
Veronica Vieira (UCI)	Robert May (Council Chair, ex-officio)
Nicolas Brecha (UCLA)	Kum-Kum Bhavnani (Council Vice Chair, ex-officio)
Linda Hirst (UCM)	Jocelyn Banaria (Committee Analyst)
Jennifer Najera (UCR)	