UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES ANNUAL REPORT 2017-18 – DRAFT

TO THE ASSEMBLY OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE:

Responsibilities and Duties

Pursuant to <u>Senate Bylaw 150</u>, the University Committee on Committees (UCOC) oversaw the appointment of chairs and vice chairs for each of the standing committees of the Assembly; oversaw the nomination of Senate members to serve on ad hoc or ongoing joint Senate-Administration committees and task forces. UCOC met three times in person and two times by videoconference. Major issues and accomplishments are reported below.

Appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Senate's Standing Committees

At the October 2017 meeting, members chose their positions to serve as standing committee liaisons. The liaisons gathered information from the committee chairs, vice chairs, members, and analysts on the committee's effectiveness and possible vice chair candidates. In addition, the liaisons recommended individuals for 2018-19 chairs and vice chairs of their designated committees. UCOC reviewed and approved these recommendations from April to August 2018.

Appointment of members of Senate committees, subcommittees, or task forces that report to the Assembly

The ten divisional Committees on Committees nominated divisional representatives to the standing committees and to the Assembly. Subsequently, UCOC issued the appointment letters, which specified the term of appointment and the committee's charge. UCOC also conducted the following:

- Editorial Committee appointed seven new members;
- University Committee on Faculty Welfare (UCFW) Health Care Task Force (HCTF) appointed three new members and two at-large members who were ex officio members;
- UCFW Task Force on Investment and Retirement (TFIR) reappointed one member;
- Academic Council Special Committee on Lab Issues (ACSCOLI) selected two members and confirmed a new chair of the committee;
- University Committee of Rules and Jurisdiction (UCRJ) appointed chair and members;
- Academic Council Secretary/Parliamentarian appointed a new Secretary/Parliamentarian.

Appointment of Senate Representatives to Special Committees & Task Forces, Search Committees, & Joint Senate/Administrative Task Forces and Committees

UCOC is responsible for appointing Senate representatives to various groups that are proposed by the President, Provost, and/or other senior administrators, including search committees of senior executives and chancellors. UCOC nominated and appointed representatives to serve on a number of joint Administration-Senate task forces and other groups. These included the UC Riverside Chancellor Ad Hoc Review Committee, Academic Senate Systemwide Public Safety Task Force (SPSTF), Pharmacy RFP Panel, UC Firearm Violence Research Center Advisory Board, and the UC Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources (ANR) Program Council. UCOC also was asked to consider members and consulted upon the following:

- Cross Campus Enrollment System (CCES)
- Cyber-Risk Governance Committee
- UC Center in Sacramento Advisory Board
- President's Task Force on Retiree Health
- Negotiated Salary Trial Plan Working Group
- UC Retirement System Advisory Board
- SLASIAC Standing Subcommittee on Copyright Policy
- Negotiated Salary Trial Plan Working Group
- UC Policing Task Force
- ICAS California Open Education Resources Council (COERC)
- Confirmed/supported reappointment for the Shared Library Facilities Board (SLFB)

UCOC was also to asked to be reviewers for the 2018-19 President's Postdoctoral Fellow Program.

Outside UC

In an urgent request, UCOC was asked to identify faculty members to be judges in four areas for the Graduate Scholarship Program for the American Australian Association Education program in mid-December 2017. Faculty members were identified in a few days.

What is new this year is that UCOC has been asked to find representative for California statelevel review panels and council. UCOC was asked to nominate a minimum of three faculty members in each of the following areas: 1) oncology, 2) pathology and 3) atmospheric science for the Scientific Review Panel on Toxic Air Contaminants requested by the California Secretary for Environmental Protection (CalEPA), the Chair of the Senate Rules Committee, and/or the Assembly Speaker.

Annually, UC Office of the President receives requests for nominees to serve on the California Environmental Contaminant Biomonitoring Program (Biomonitoring California) Scientific Guidance Panel (SGP), pursuant to Section 105448 of the California Health and Safety Code.

UCOC was asked to approve UC faculty member of the California Air Resources Board (CARB) Scientific Review Panel on Toxic Air Contaminants (SRP). Each year, UC Office of the President receives requests for nominees to serve on the CARB SRP, pursuant to Section 39670 of the California Health and Safety Code. These requests come from the California Secretary for Environmental Protection, the Chair of the Senate Rules Committee, and the Assembly Speaker. There are nine members on the SRP with different areas of expertise, whose three-year terms expire on a staggered basis on December 31 of each year.

In addition, UCOC was asked to nominate members to the California Council on Science & Technology (CCST) Board of Directors.

Oliver Johnson Award

UCOC nominated Duncan Mellichamp (UCSB) and Daniel Simmons (UCD) for the Oliver Johnson Award. Both have distinguished academic careers with a long history of substantial Senate service. Academic Council subsequently selected both nominations for the Oliver Johnson Award.

Other UCOC activities

- UCOC discussed the topic on divisional Committee on Committees (COCs) bylaws on membership and holding administrative titles, which is related to the systemwide <u>Senate</u> <u>Bylaw 128.H</u>.
- UCOC sent comments about conflict of interest and <u>Senate Bylaw 128</u> to Council Chair White on March 15, 2018.
- UCOC revisited and discussed <u>Senate Bylaw128.D</u>, specifically "The Vice Chair shall be an at-large member who has experience as a member of the corresponding Divisional committee."

Respectfully submitted:

Patricia Gallagher, (UCSC)	Nancy Postero (UCSD)
Kevin Plaxco, Vice Chair (UCSC)	Pamela Ling (UCSF)
Ming Wu (UCB)	Jane Mulfinger & Bassam Bamieh (UCSB)
Naoki Saito (UCD)	Maureen Callanan (UCSC)
Roxane Cohen-Silver (UCI)	Shane White (Council Chair, ex-officio)
Christina Palmer (UCLA)	Robert May (Council Vice Chair, ex-officio)
Thomas Hansford (UCM)	Jocelyn Banaria (Committee Analyst)
Amalia Cabezas (UCR)	