UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES 2011-12 ANNUAL REPORT

TO THE ASSEMBLY OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE:

Pursuant to <u>Senate Bylaw 150</u>, in 2011-12 the University Committee on Committees (UCOC) oversaw the appointment of chairs and vice chairs for each of the standing committees of the Assembly; oversaw the nomination of Senate members to serve on ad hoc or ongoing joint Senate-Administration committees and task forces; and authorized the Chair of the Assembly to appoint active members of standing committees to serve on joint committees and task forces subject to UCOC approval.

UCOC met twice in person, once by iLinc video conference, and communicated regularly through its listserv to conduct its business. We report on the major issues and accomplishments of the year.

Appoint Chairs and specified Vice Chairs of the Senate's Standing Committees.

At its October meeting UCOC appointed a member to serve as a liaison to each standing committee. The liaison was tasked with gathering information from the chair, vice chair, and, where appropriate, members and committee staff on the committee's effectiveness in the current year. The liaison recommended one or more individuals to be considered for service as chair and, where required, vice chair of his/her designated committees in 2012-13. The committee reviewed these recommendations at its April meeting. Appointments to all but two required positions have been confirmed; UCOC continues to work on appointing the UCOPE chair and the UCEP vice chair.

Appoint members of Senate committees, subcommittees, or task forces that report to the Assembly. The ten divisional Committees on Committees nominated divisional representatives to the standing committees. Subsequently, UCOC appointed members for two-year terms, and appointment letters, which specify the term of appointment and describing the committee's charge, have been issued. The committee was also successful in fully populating the Online Instruction Pilot Project (OIPP) Blue Ribbon Panel.

Academic Council Special Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources (ACSCANR): UCOC replaced one member who resigned from ACSCANR due to her acceptance of a deanship, and was therefore ineligible to serve in this capacity per Senate Bylaw 128.D, which prohibits any Senate member from "holding an administrative position higher than department chair."

Appoint Senate Representatives to Ad Hoc and Joint Senate-Administrative Bodies.

Where appropriate, UCOC asked the standing committees of the Assembly to identify current committee members to serve on ad hoc and joint bodies whose charge matched or over-lapped those of the respective committees. In that spirit, UCOC nominated, appointed, or confirmed representatives as appropriate to serve on a number of joint Administration-Senate task forces and other groups. These included the C-ID Governing Committee, IGETC Standards Review Committee, OIPP Advisory Committee, Task

Force on Parking, UCEAP Governing Committee, the UC Code of Conduct Committee, the UC Center Sacramento Advisory Council (UCCS), the Advisory Board of the UC Student Health Insurance Plan (UCSHIP), and the Wave II Selection Committee.

Search Committees: UCOC nominated Senate participants for search committees for the Provost, the UC Berkeley Chancellor, and the UC San Diego Chancellor.

Chancellorial Reviews: UCOC nominated a slate of candidates for the Los Angeles and Santa Cruz Chancellorial Reviews.

Challenges: In fulfilling its responsibilities, UCOC was challenged by the volume and ad hoc timing of requests. UCOC continues to support a recommendation made by past chairs that it is far better to bundle requests for Senate nominations on predictable timelines, rather than repeatedly attempting to mobilize members from the ten divisions for one-off tasks. UCOC remains concerned that the proliferation of ad hoc and joint committees carries at least the potential to reduce the effectiveness of the Senate's standing committees in shared governance. Finally, the committee notes that finding Senate members to serve as standing committee chairs, vice chairs, and even members is becoming increasingly difficult, given expanding teaching loads and administrative burdens being placed on UC faculty.

Dissolution of the University Committee on Computing & Communications (UCCC): One issue that remains challenging for not only UCOC, but the Senate at large is the consolidation, dissolution, and/or expansion of standing committees or special committees of Academic Council. UCOC received a proposal from Academic Council that asked members to consider dissolving UCCC, as changes in the technology environment have cast doubt upon the continuing relevance of UCCC's charge. In addition, this committee suffered from irregular attendance and infrequent action items on its agendas. UCOC opined that other Senate standing committees could take up the slack vacated by UCCC, including BOARS, UCEP, and UCORP, among others. Towards that end, UCOC made a formal recommendation to Academic Council that UCCC be dissolved contingent on Academic Council appointing an ad-hoc committee to determine where the components of UCCC's charge should be located and how they should be allocated.

Editorial Committee: In addition to making two appointments to this committee, UCOC took pains to ensure that the appointment process conforms to that laid out by Bylaw 160, which states that membership of the Editorial Committee shall consist of twenty members, with at least one, but not more than four, from each Division, with Divisional representation not otherwise being a criterion for appointment. Towards that end, UCOC and Senate leadership also met with UC Press Director Alison Mudditt and the incoming Editorial Chair over the summer.

Oliver Johnson Award: UCOC selected John Oakley (UCD) and Sandra Weiss (UCSF) for the Oliver Johnson award and submitted their names to Academic Council. Both individuals were subsequently confirmed by Academic Council.

Respectfully submitted:

Stanley Awramik (Chair, UCSB)	Andrew T. Scull (UCSD)
Mitchell Sutter (Vice Chair, UCD)	Janice Humphreys (UCSF)
Susanna Elm (UCB)	Edwina Barvosa (UCSB)
Richard Tucker (UCD)	Elizabeth Abrams (UCSC)
Roger Rangel (UCI)	Robert Anderson (ex-officio, Council Chair)
Craig Fox (UCLA)	Robert Powell (ex-officio, V. Council Chair)
Martha Conklin (UCM)	Todd Giedt (Senate Assoc. Director/Analyst)
Jang-Ting Guo (UCR)	