Bylaws and Regulations
Issues Under Review
Reports and Recommendations
Oliver Johnson Award
Resources and Guidelines
Contact Us
Academic Senate
University of California
1111 Franklin St.,
12th Floor
Oakland, CA
Please send website comments or questions to Hilary Baxter.
Academic Senate The University of California
image Regents UCOP UC System Home
Oliver Johnson Award for Distinguished Leadership in the Academic Senate

2014 Recipients:

Kathleen Komar and Joel Dimsdale


Joel DimsdaleJoel E. Dimsdale, M.D. is Distinguished Professor Emeritus in the Department of Psychiatry at UCSD. He was chair of the UCSD Academic Senate in 2002-03. He also chaired that campus’s Committee on Committees in 2005-06, and was a member and Chair of the UCSD School of Medicine Faculty Council. At the systemwide level, he chaired the University Committee on Faculty Welfare in 2010-11 and was a member of the University Committee on Academic Personnel and the Academic Council. Most recently, he served as a member of the Academic Advisory Committee for the selection of a UC President in 2013.


Kathleen Komar

Kathleen L. Komar is Professor of Comparative Literature at UCLA. She served as chair of the UCLA Academic Senate in 2004-05, was a member of the Academic Advisory Committee in the search for a new UC President in 2007, and chaired the Academic Advisory Committee in the search for a new UCLA Chancellor in 2006. At UCLA, she also chaired the Council on Academic Personnel and was a member of the Senate Executive Board, the Undergraduate Council, and the Graduate Council Committee on Degree Programs.




Past Award Recipients

Nomination Process

Professor Oliver Johnson