UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, ACADEMIC SENATE

BERKELEY • DAVIS • IRVINE • LOS ANGELES • MERCED • RIVERSIDE • SAN DIEGO • SAN FRANCISCO



SANTA BARBARA • SANTA CRUZ

Universitywide Committee on Committees

Telephone: (510) 987-9458 Fax: (510) 763-0309

Email: jspowell@ucdavis.edu

Assembly of the Academic Senate University of California 1111 Franklin Street, 12th Floor Oakland, California 94607-5200

December 18, 2007

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES DIVISIONAL CHAIRS

Donald Mastronarde, UCB
Craig A Tracy, UCD
Diane O'Dowd, UCI
James N Miller, UCLA
Michael Colvin, UCM
John Ganim, UCR
Susan Mazer, UCSB
Joseph Konopelski, UCSC
J. Hampton Atkinson, UCSD
Steven Kayser, UCSF

RE: The Oliver Johnson Award – Response Date: February 18, 2008

Dear Colleagues:

I am writing to you on behalf of the Universitywide Committee on Committees (UCOC) to solicit your assistance in nominating Academic Senate members for the 2008 Oliver Johnson Award.

The Oliver Johnson Award for Service to the Academic Senate is given out once every two years to a member of the UC faculty. Funded through a gift from the late Oliver Johnson, professor at UC Riverside, the award carries a small honorarium for the faculty member who receives it.

In 1997, after Professor Johnson and the Academic Council agreed to establish the award, Council Chair Sandra Weiss asked UCOC to take on two responsibilities: First, that UCOC select two award nominees and forward their names to the Academic Council, which selects the final award winner, and at the same time, establish a process for selecting the two nominees. Second, that UCOC develop criteria for choosing award recipients.

The nomination process and selection criteria were approved by the 1997-98 UCOC and then refined by the 1999-2000, 2001-2002, 2003-04, 2005-06 and 2007-08 UCOC. A copy of the nomination process and selection criteria is attached to this memo.

For UCOC to meet the deadline for informing the Academic Council of the nominees, and for the Council to make a final selection to present to the May Assembly for ratification, it is necessary for UCOC to receive the nominations on or before February 18, 2008. Nominations received after February 18th will not be considered. Divisional Committee on Committees may fax or mail their nomination to me in care of:

María Bertero-Barceló, Executive Director Academic Senate, 12th Floor University of California Oakland, CA 94607-5200 FAX: 510-763-0309

Or you may wish to email the nomination to:

Jerry Powell < <u>jspowell@ucdavis.edu</u>> **and**/or María Bertero-Barceló <<u>mbertero@ucop.edu</u>>

Please mark all correspondence as "Confidential To Be Opened by Addressee Only."

Thank you very much for your assistance with this matter.

Cordially,

Jerry S. Powell, Chair

UCOC

Copy: Michael T. Brown, Academic Senate Chair

UCOC members

María Bertero-Barceló, Executive Director

OLIVER JOHNSON AWARD

FOR

DISTINGUISHED LEADERSHIP IN THE ACADEMIC SENATE

Criteria for Nomination

The award is designed to honor a University of California faculty member who has demonstrated at the Divisional and the Systemwide Academic Senate level:

- 1. Outstanding and creative contributions as evidenced by major impact on faculty governance.
- 2. Sustained excellence in serving the Academic Senate.
- 3. Exceptional abilities in working with different university constituents effectively.

Eligibility

All members of the Academic Senate except those who have served on the Academic Council during the immediate three (3) years prior to nomination.

Process

- 1. UCOC will activate a process of nomination at the beginning of every other academic year.
- 2. Nominations will be solicited and reviewed by each Divisional Committee on Committees (ConC) every two years. ConCs are expected to develop and use a systematic process of selection.
- 3. UCOC will review the divisional endorsed (**one per division**) nomination and documentation and will recommend two nominations to the Academic Council.
- 4. The Academic Council will make and ratify the final decision on the candidate to receive the award.
- 5. An announcement of the recipient will be made during the last Legislative Assembly meeting of the academic year. Announcements will be made on even years.

Requirements

The following will be required to make a nomination to the UCOC, then to the Academic Council:

- 1. A nomination letter by the chair of each Divisional ConC **not to exceed 3 pages**.
- 2. A focused **curriculum vitae not to exceed two (2) pages** outlining the divisional candidate's Academic Senate service.
- 3. An endorsement letter with above documentation by UCOC Chair submitted to the Academic Council Chair.

Deadline for campus nomination is February 18, 2008. (Nominations received after February 18, 2008 will not be considered.)

THE OLIVER JOHNSON ENDOWMENT FUND

The primary purpose of the Fund is to endow the "Oliver Johnson Award for Service to the Academic Senate," to a member of the Academic Senate who has performed outstanding service to the Senate. Its broader goal is to honor, through the award to the recipient, all members of faculty (including Emeriti/ae Senate members) who have contributed their time and talent to the Senate.

The recipient of the award will be chosen biennially by a majority of the full membership of the Academic Council and ratified by the Assembly of the Academic Senate. All members of the Academic Senate (including Emeriti/ae Senate members) are eligible for the award, with the exception of those who have served on the Academic Council during the three prior years. The award's first recipients were W. Elliot Brownlee of UC Santa Barbara and Carlton Bovell of UC Riverside who jointly received the honor in spring 1998. Professor Fred Spiess, of UC San Diego was the 2000 recipient; Professor Arnold Binder was the 2002 recipient; Professors Aimee Dorr, of UC Los Angeles, and Calvin C. Moore, of UC Berkeley were the 2004 recipients; and Professor Michael Cowan, of UC Santa Cruz and Karl Pister, of UC Berkeley were the 2006 recipients.

The Fund is invested by the Office of the Treasurer of the Regents of the University of California. The award will be a cash stipend from accrued earnings. The size of this award will vary depending on earnings but will generally range from \$500 - 1,000 although in rare circumstances it may exceed this value. The principal is protected and appropriate adjustments made so that it grows with the growth of inflation. This award will be presented at the Annual Academic Council dinner, which will be held on July 23, 2008 in Oakland.